Copy of Heritage Fest 2017-2707.jpg

History & Information

Officially the Republic of Mauritius (French: République de Maurice), is an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kilometers off the southeast coast of the African continent. The country includes the islands of MauritiusRodriguesAgaléga and St. Brandon. The islands of Mauritius and Rodrigues form part of the Mascarene Islands, along with nearby Reunion, a French overseas department.

In 1598, the Dutch took possession of Mauritius. They abandoned Mauritius in 1710 and the French took control of the island in 1715, renaming it Isle de France. France officially ceded Mauritius including all its dependencies to the United Kingdom (UK) through the Treaty of Paris, signed on 30 May 1814 and in which Reunion Island was returned to France.

Mauritius is a multicultural country with Muslim, Hindu, Catholic and Chinese people live peacefully together, sharing ethnic culture, food and drinks.